Granola bar

IMG-20140308-WA0003

I was tired of buying boxes after boxes of granola bars. Lets face it, my 7 year old loves them and I occasionally gorge on them πŸ™‚

Every time I looked at the content list on the box, I would remind myself that I had almost every ingredient at my disposal, it seems easy to make, and yet I would end up paying $$ for a small box of bars. Lazy.

Thanks to Linda’s ‘Everyday Granola’ recipe, I have a tray of most delicious, healthy, no caramel colour, no preservatives and all the unnecessary junk, no excess sugar added, no frankenfood perfect bars, that I can whip up in a matter of minutes! Proud.

Heres what the recipe calls for: 3 cups old fashioned oats 1 1/2 cups walnuts, chopped 1 cup dates, chopped 1/2 cup honey 1/2 cup natural peanut butter 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.

I used quick steel cut oats. A mixture of half walnuts-almonds and raisins-dates. Since we are not fans of PB, I used TJ’s raw Almond butter instead. To satisfy my chocolate cravings, added just a few morsels of organic white chocolate. Sprinkled some sea salt and a teaspoon of cinnamon for extra flavouring. Also since I was not sure if it was OK to use oats without slightly roasting them, I baked the bar mixture on 300F for 15 mins.

Mix oats, almonds, walnuts ,chopped dates and raisins. Add Vanilla & microwave or warm, the honey and almond butterΒ  mixture, stirring just until an almost flowing consistency is achieved. Pour it over oats and mix everything. Flatten and bake. Cool, cut & enjoy! Yumm!

IMG-20140308-WA0002

6 comments

  1. So happy that you tried my recipe. Your bars look absolutely delicious!! I love your adapted recipe. I’ll continue visiting your blog to check out all of your other recipes as well. Enjoy your day! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment